Team Kingsley honors annual award winners

  • Published
  • By Senior Master Sgt. Jennifer Shirar
  • 173rd Fighter Wing

– Each year the 173rd Fighter Wing and Oregon Air National Guard honor the top performers from around base and select superior performers to represent the wing. To honor the recipients of these awards, as well as the entire wing, organizers put together an awards ceremony held April 15, 2023, on a surprisingly warm spring day at the base. 


“Even though our success comes from the team overall, we honor those who stood out as above-and-beyond this past year,” said Col. Lee Bouma, the 173rd Fighter Wing commander. “A special thank you for your service and dedication to the defense of America,” he added addressing the members of the wing assembled on the north lawn.


The ceremony opened with the presentation of the colors by the Kingsley Field Honor Guard, the singing of the National Anthem, by Tech. Sgt. Cassondra Patterson, 173rd Maintenance Operations Flight. Capt. Shane Coker, 114th Fighter Squadron, narrated the event.


Bouma congratulated the winners and emphasized the importance of every member of Team Kingsley. “The contributions of Team Kingsley impact not only our community, but the state, nation, and even the entire world. Thanks to everyone on the team for your service, it couldn’t be done without you.”


The 2022 173rd Fighter Wing Outstanding Airmen of the Year are:

Category I – Airman 1st Class Mariana Cruz Ruiz from the Mission Support Group

Category II – Tech. Sgt. Michelle Christie from the Comptroller Flight

Category III – Master Sgt. Tristan Ritter from the 270th Air Traffic Control Squadron

Company Grade Officer of the Year – Capt. Brandon McGraw from the Maintenance Operations Flight

Field Grade Officer of the Year – Maj. Kristine Raudy from the Medical Group.


Wing-level winners went on to compete at the State level and Team Kingsley Airmen were selected in several categories. 


The 173rd Maintenance Group was named the Oregon Air National Guard Outstanding Unit of the Year.  Lt. Col. Kristopher Wolfram, the 173rd Maintenance Squadron commander, accepted the award on behalf of the entire maintenance group. He thanked the team for everything they had done over the past year.


State level awards include:

Oregon ANG Field Grade Officer of the Year – Maj. Kristine Raudy from the Medical Group.

Maj. Gen. Chester E. McCarty Superior Performance Award: Logistics & Transportation: Senior Master Sgt. James Childs, 173rd Logistics Readiness Squadron

Maj. Gen. Chester E. McCarty Superior Performance Award: Maintenance: Senior Master Sgt. Jay Bosse, 173rd Maintenance Operations Flight

Maj. Gen. Chester E. McCarty Superior Performance Award: Medical: Airman 1st Class Mikayla Coleman, 173rd Medical Group

Maj. Gen. Chester E. McCarty Superior Performance Award: General: Senior Airman Maranda Glasow, 173rd Force Support Flight

First Sergeant of the Year: Master Sgt. Caleb Coaty, 173rd Maintenance Group

Brig. Gen. Cunningham “Wingman” Award: Staff Sgt. Thomas Luna, 173rd Communications Flight

Civilian Employee of the Year: Mr. Troy Lukens, Fighter Wing Staff


Additionally, group-level award winners were recognized.







173rd OG

Staff Sgt. Emma Harding

Tech. Sgt. Niccoli Zalundardo

Master Sgt. Tristan Ritter

173rd Command


Tech. Sgt. Alicia Edick


173rd MXG

Senior Airman Audrey Wilcox

Staff Sgt. Alexander Hagen

Master Sgt. Chad Stree

173rd MSG

Airman 1st Class Mariana Cruz Ruiz

Tech. Sgt. Michael Daniel

Master Sgt. Jonathan Anderson

173 MDG

Senior Airman Yvette Rascon

Tech. Sgt. Kendall Neilsen

Master Sgt. Wyatt Stinnett



The 173rd Chief’s Advisory Council hosted a tri-tip barbeque at the Kingsley Field Social Club, to celebrate the accomplishments of those who were recognized as well as the effort of the entire wing.